Tags

So, my last blog post was on Oct. 22 and it’s now Dec. 28th (I think – dates get hazy during vacation). I bet you think I abandoned this venture again, didn’t you? Well, short answer is no, long answer is, November and most of December were very, very busy.

In one of my blog posts I mentioned that I was participating in NaNoWriMo and I won! My goal for NaNo was to finish a novel I started two years ago and well, it’s still not done but at least I’m halfway now! Then, after NaNo was my MFA residency and then the holidays hit. So now, it’s Dec. 28th and after taking two days of true vacation time with nothing but reading and watching movies, I’m “back to the grind” so to speak. I don’t physically go back to work until sometime in January, but I have lots of writing and revising that I need to do, so I’m sitting here at coffee shop working happily away.

In fact, I’m working on an annotation for a YA novel that I read, which reminded me a goal for 2012. I want to call 2012, the year of YA Literature, in which I only read Young Adult works, but that’s not possible. However, I’m going to share with you, on this blog, which YA books I read, especially since my focus will be on YA authors of color. So, in addition to starting up Vivenda again (going to start after the first of the year) I’m going to start adding book reviews to the site.

I can see you rolling your eyes thinking “sure, sure K. Imani, you always say that,” but this year it’s true. One of my goals this year is to spend more time with the business of writing and focusing more energy on this blog falls under the realm of business. Many of you have expressed reading more of my work and I’m very thankful for that. This blog is for you as well as me. Let’s spend some more time together.

K. Imani

